Muesli Flapjack

DSCN6858

Now this is a trip down memory lane to my childhood. My mum, bless her, used to make these frequently, although she didn’t make them after my brother and I left home to make our way in the world.

I now make them for my children and grandchildren when they come to visit or when we visit them. I don’t always make them to this recipe either, as this is one of those recipes where you can mix and match to suit your mood or what is available in the cupboard. Normally I would use porridge oats instead of muesli, but I wanted to try it and see how it turned out. It was just fine.

This recipe comes with a health warning though. It is very sensitive to temperature and time. Cook the flapjack for too long or at too high a temperature, and you could use them to fill holes in the road-be warned. My mum always made bullet hard flapjack and I can recall visitors breaking teeth on at least two separate occasions.

DSCN6852

Ingredients

200 g/7 oz/1 scant cup butter

200 g/7 oz/1 cup demerara sugar

75 g/3 oz/ 1/3rd cup golden syrup/black treacle/molasses

375 g/13 oz/4 cups muesli/oats

1 dessertspoon powdered ginger

Method

DSCN6850

In a suitable saucepan, weigh in the butter, sugar and golden syrup. Stir over a low heat to ensure an homogeneous mix.

Remove from the heat, and add the muesli or oats and stir well.

DSCN6854

Pour into a greased baking tin about 30 x 23 cm/12 x 9 inch and using a palette knife spread the mixture evenly, working into the edges and corners.

DSCN6855

Now the tray needs to go into a pre-warmed oven set at 170 c/325 F/Gas 3/moderately slow for 25 to 30 minutes and no more. I always use an oven thermometer to ensure that I cook at the correct temperature. The photo above shows my oven set at 150 C/300 F/Gas 2/slow, but was actually cooking at 170 C/325 F/Gas 3/moderately slow.

DSCN6856

When the time expires remove from the oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes and no more. If you leave it until it is cold to cut the flapjack into squares, you will really struggle.

DSCN6857

Using a sharp knife cut the flapjack into squares paying particular attention at the edges.

DSCN6858

After another 10 minutes separate the pieces and carefully place them on a cooling rack.

Mmmm.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Year, Cakes, Student Food

Leave a Reply

